world map

USA

On the road between the Arctic Ocean in Alaska and the deserts of New Mexico

date of entry 07/04/1999
mileage 255,819

capital Washington, D.C.

area 9.826.675 km²

population 317.238.626

GDP 15.094 Bill. US-Dollar

official language English

The USA is not merely a country, but virtually a continent. Accordingly, Gunther and Christine Holtorf gave themselves around two years in total from 1999 to drive through the whole of this land of unlimited possibilities in several stages, from the northern tip of Alaska to the desert on the Mexican border. This period also included 11 September 2001, which shook the nation to its foundations.
  • As well as traditional drop-shaped balloons, the International Balloon Fiesta offered some unusual models to admire. Companies use the festival to launch balloons with distinctive shapes into the sky.
    20  of  20
  • Between 1999 and 2001, Gunther and Christine Holtorf drove with Otto to virtually every corner of the USA. On their first visit to New York City on the east coast, the famous Twin Towers of the World Trade Center were still standing. A few days later, they lay in rubble.
    1  of  20
  • In the Midwest, Otto posed in front of the skyscrapers of Chicago. The skyline of the third-largest city in the USA is no less imposing than that of Manhattan.
    2  of  20
  • In San Francisco on the west coast, a drive over the world-famous Golden Gate Bridge was also a compulsory part of Otto’s programme...
    3  of  20
  • ... as was a visit to the glamorous gambling metropolis of Las Vegas in the neighbouring desert state of Nevada.
    4  of  20
  • At the southern tip, the trio’s journey took them to the Texan city of Houston.
    5  of  20
  • Houston is home to the NASA Mission Control Center, from where all the Americans’ manned space flights since 1965 have been directed. The lines on the big screens show the trajectory of rockets and satellites.
    6  of  20
  • The neighbouring Rocket Park contains an exhibition of artefacts relating to American space travel. One of these is the Saturn V rocket, which was used for the missions to the moon.
    7  of  20
  • The north was also explored in detail. On the Dalton Highway, Gunther and Christine Holtorf crossed the Arctic Circle with Otto and drove up to the northern edge of Alaska at Prudhoe Bay, where the USA’s largest oil deposits are located. There, the trio turned around just in time and escaped the onset of the polar winter with just a few hours to spare.
    8  of  20
  • This set of tyres was also found lying around in Alaska. In an emergency, it can also be somewhere to stay.
    9  of  20
  • The USA is famed for its glittering cities with their great valleys of skyscrapers. However, Gunther Holtorf was much more impressed by the absolutely endless expanses in the rural areas. One example is Monument Valley in Arizona.
    10  of  20
  • With its distinctive rock formations – such as Mexican Hat, shown here – the National Park feels like one great Western-film backdrop.
    11  of  20
  • Cacti and vultures by the roadside convey a sense of being part of a Sergio Leone movie.
    12  of  20
  • The Colorado River, which also flows through the Grand Canyon, has over the millennia cut a path 450 kilometres long and up to 1,800 metres deep into the rocky landscape of Arizona.
    13  of  20
  • The trio covered more than 45,000 kilometres in total on the often dead-straight highways that cross this huge country.
    14  of  20
  • Otto had the good fortune to be able to drive past this motor-vehicle cemetery.
    15  of  20
  • The USA is a land of superlatives – everything is a little bigger, faster or higher than anywhere else: for example, the Hoover Dam, which generates around four billion kilowatt-hours of hydroelectric power in a year.
    16  of  20
  • Or Mount Rushmore in South Dakota: four past US presidents, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln, are immortalised on this mountain. Each head is about 18 metres high.
    17  of  20
  • Otto in the Indian summer in New England.
    18  of  20
  • In Albuquerque, New Mexico, the world’s biggest balloon festival takes off every October. Hundreds of balloons rise up into the sky over the nine days of the event. "The simultaneous launch of 600 balloons was an extraordinary experience," says Gunther Holtorf.
    19  of  20
  • Video: The USA – from Alaska to San Diego

Weltkarte

USA

Unterwegs zwischen dem Polarmeer Alaskas und der Wüste New Mexicos

Einreisedatum 07. April 1999
Kilometerstand 255.819

Hauptstadt Washington, D.C.

Größe 9.826.675 km²

Einwohner 317.238.626

BIP 15.094 Mrd. US-Dollar

Amtssprache Englisch

Die USA sind nicht einfach ein Land, sie sind quasi ein Kontinent. Entsprechend nahmen sich Gunther und Christine Holtorf ab 1999 insgesamt rund zwei Jahre Zeit, um das Land der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten in mehreren Etappen komplett zu bereisen - von der Nordspitze Alaskas bis zur Wüste an der Grenze zu Mexiko. In diesem Zeitraum fiel der 11. September 2001, der das Land in seinen Grundfesten erschütterte.
  • Neben den bekannten Ballonen in Tropfenform gab es bei der "International Balloon Fiesta" auch ausgefallene Modelle zu bestaunen. Unternehmen nutzten die Schau, um Ballons in unverwechselbaren Formen in den Himmel zu schicken.
    20  von  20
  • Zwischen 1999 und 2001 reisten Gunther und Christine Holtorf mit Otto in nahezu jede Ecke der USA. Beim ersten Besuch in New York City an der Ostküste standen die berühmten Zwillingstürme des World Trade Centers noch. Wenige Tage später lagen sie in Trümmern.
    1  von  20
  • Im mittleren Westen posierte Otto vor den Wolkenkratzern Chicagos. Die Skyline der drittgrößten amerikanischen US-Stadt muss sich hinsichtlich ihrer Imposanz nicht hinter Manhattan verstecken.
    2  von  20
  • An der Westküste gehörte in San Francisco eine Fahrt über die weltberühmte Golden Gate Bridge ebenso zum Pflichtprogramm für Otto ...
    3  von  20
  • ... wie der Besuch der glamourösen Glücksspiel-Metropole Las Vegas im benachbarten Wüstenstaat Nevada
    4  von  20
  • An der Südspitze führte die Reise das Trio in die texanische Hauptstadt Houston
    5  von  20
  • In Houston befindet sich das Mission Control Center der NASA, von dem aus seit 1965 alle bemannten Raumflüge der Amerikaner geleitet werden. Die Routen auf den großen Schirmen zeigen Flugbahnen von Raketen und Satelliten an.
    6  von  20
  • Im benachbarten „Rocket Park“ sind Artefakte aus der amerikanischen Raumfahrt ausgestellt. Zum Beispiel die Rakete „Saturn V“, die für die Mondflüge eingesetzt wurde.
    7  von  20
  • Auch der Norden wurde ausgiebig erkundet. Auf dem Dalton Highway überquerten Gunther und Christine Holtorf mit Otto den nördlichen Polarkreis und fuhren bis an den nördlichen Rand Alaskas – nach Prudhoe Bay, wo sich das größte Erdölvorkommen der USA befindet. Dort kehrte das Trio gerade rechtzeitig wieder um und entging dem polaren Wintereinbruch so nur um wenige Stunden.
    8  von  20
  • In Alaska lag auch dieser Reifensatz herum, der notfalls auch als Unterkunft dienen kann
    9  von  20
  • Die USA sind berühmt für ihre glitzernden Metropolen mit den Wolkenkratzerschluchten. Gunther Holtorf zeigte sich jedoch deutlich beeindruckter von den schier endlosen Weiten in den ländlichen Gebieten. Ein Beispiel dafür ist das Monument Valley in Arizona.
    10  von  20
  • Der Nationalpark wirkt mit seinen charakteristischen Felsformationen, im Bild der Mexikanische Hut, wie eine einzige riesige Westernkulisse
    11  von  20
  • Kakteen und Geier am Wegesrand vermittelten das Gefühl, Teil eines Sergio-Leone-Streifens zu sein
    12  von  20
  • Der Colorado River, der auch durch den Grand Canyon fließt, hat sich in Jahrtausenden 450 Kilometer lang und bis zu 1800 Meter tief in die Felsenlandschaft Arizonas gefräst
    13  von  20
  • Auf den oft schnurgeraden Straßen, die das riesige Land durchziehen, legte das Trio insgesamt mehr als 45.000 Kilometer zurück
    14  von  20
  • An diesem Autofriedhof konnte Otto glücklicherweise vorbeifahren
    15  von  20
  • Die USA sind ein Land der Superlative, alles ist ein bisschen größer, schneller oder höher als woanders: Zum Beispiel der Hoover Dam in Nevada, der mit Wasserkraft etwa vier Milliarden Kilowattstunden Strom im Jahr erzeugt.
    16  von  20
  • Oder Mount Rushmore in South Dakota: In dem Berg sind die vier ehemaligen US-Präsidenten George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt und Abraham Lincoln verewigt. Jeder Kopf ist etwa 18 Meter hoch.
    17  von  20
  • Otto im Indian Summer in Neuengland
    18  von  20
  • In Albuquerque, New Mexico, steigt jedes Jahr im Oktober das größte Heißluftballon-Festival der Welt. An den neun Veranstaltungstagen steigen hunderte Ballons in die Luft. „Der Simultanstart von 600 Ballons war ein herausragendes Erlebnis“, sagt Gunther Holtorf.
    19  von  20
  • Video: USA - von Alaska bis San Diego