world map

Panama

Panama is a beautiful country, even away from the famous canal.

date of entry 01/02/1999
mileage 242,000

capital Panama City

area 75.517 km²

population 3.332.576

GDP 24.711 M. US-Dollar

official language Spanish

The famed Pan-American Highway is just a legend. It does not run from Tierra del Fuego to Alaska: there is no motorable land connection from South to Central America. Therefore, Otto was loaded onto a container, and his journey took him from Guayaquil in Ecuador to Panama City.
  • Some 14,500 ships cross the Panama Canal every year instead of sailing all the way around South America via Cape Horn. This makes it one of the most important waterways in the world.
    5  of  5
  • The 117-metre-high Bridge of the Americas spans the Panama Canal at its southern entrance, coming from the Pacific.
    1  of  5
  • Christine and Gunther Holtorf watched in fascination as the container ships entered the canal’s locks – there was very little space left on either side.
    2  of  5
  • Ships that fit into the locks used to be classified as Panamax. Larger container ships, identified as Postpanamax or Overpanamax, are now the rule. The locks are now being widened to enable these ships to navigate the canal.
    3  of  5
  • The 82-kilometre-long canal is also used by cruise ships to get from the Pacific to the Atlantic, or vice-versa. On their first trip, the Holtorfs were still able to get close to the canal entrance unimpeded. On their second visit, in 2002, the zone was closed off over a wide area – a consequence of the 9/11 attacks.
    4  of  5
  • Video: Panama – identified by its canal

Weltkarte

Panama

Ach wie schön ist Panama, auch abseits des berühmten Kanals.

Einreisedatum 01. Februar 1999
Kilometerstand 242.000

Hauptstadt Panama-Stadt

Größe 75.517 km²

Einwohner 3.332.576

BIP 24.711 Mio. US-Dollar

Amtssprache Spanisch

Die berühmte Panamericana ist eine Legende. Sie führt nicht von Feuerland nach Alaska: Von Süd- nach Mittelamerika gibt es keine befahrbare Landverbindung. So wurde Otto in einen Container verladen und es ging für ihn von Guayaquil in Ecuador nach Panama-Stadt.
  • Rund 14.500 Schiffe durchqueren pro Jahr den Panama-Kanal, anstatt am Kap Horn Südamerika zu umrunden. Damit ist er eine der wichtigsten Wasserstraßen der Welt.
    5  von  5
  • Die 117 Meter hohe Brücke der Amerikas überspannt den Panama-Kanal auf der südlichen Einfahrt vom Pazifik kommend
    1  von  5
  • Christine und Gunther Holtorf beobachteten fasziniert die Einfahrt der Containerschiffe in die Schleusen des Kanals - links und rechts blieb nur wenig Platz
    2  von  5
  • Schiffe, die in die Schleusen passen, wurden als Panamax klassifiziert. Heute sind größere Containerschiffe, die als Postpanamax- oder Overpanamax bezeichnet werden, die Regel. Damit auch sie den Kanal befahren können, werden die Schleusen gerade verbreitert.
    3  von  5
  • Auch Kreuzfahrtschiffe nutzen den 82 Kilometer langen Kanal, um vom Pazifik in den Atlantik zu kommen oder umgekehrt. Bei der ersten Reise kamen die Holtorfs noch ungehindert in die Nähe der Kanaleinfahrt. Bei der zweiten Reise, 2002, war das Gebiet weiträumig abgesperrt, eine Folge der Anschläge vom 11. September 2001.
    4  von  5
  • Video: Panama - geprägt durch den Kanal