world map

Malaysia

Visiting one of the tiger states

date of entry 18/05/2007
mileage 584,102

capital Kuala Lumpur

area 330.290 km²

population 28.334.135

GDP 278,6 Bill. US-Dollar

official language Malaysian

This largely Muslim country has achieved huge economic growth over recent years. It is one of the Asian tiger states, home not only to ethnic peoples but to large numbers of Indians, Chinese, Europeans and Australians. Malaysia consists of countless islands, and also shares the island of Borneo with Brunei and Indonesia. After his first visit, Otto often passed through the country on the way to the port in Singapore.
  • The rubber tree still plays an important part in Malaysia’s economy. Workers tap the trees and drain the milky sap into buckets. The rubber will be used to make things like tyres and air mattresses.
    8  of  8
  • When Gunther arrived in May 2007, the celebrations of the 50th anniversary of Malaysia’s independence from Britain were in full swing
    1  of  8
  • The Petronas Towers are an impressive symbol of Malaysia’s economic boom. They stand 452 metres above the streets of the capital, Kuala Lumpur, and were for a long period the tallest buildings in the world.
    2  of  8
  • A huge array of vegetables is on sale at most Malaysian markets. The country’s cuisine is very varied, thanks to its many cultural influences. Many of the most popular dishes contain rice with fish or meat.
    3  of  8
  • This beautiful Buddhist cemetery exemplifies the peaceful cohabitation of religions in Malaysia. Buddhists are a minority. Gunther experienced a great deal of tolerance in this southeast Asian country.
    4  of  8
  • Orangutans on the island of Borneo face extinction. Much of this is due to the destruction of their habitat resulting from rainforest clearance.
    5  of  8
  • Malaysia is one of the world’s largest producers of palm oil. "The whole country is covered in oil palms from north to south," says Gunther. Here he is holding the fruits.
    6  of  8
  • Agriculture has taken a back seat over the past few decades as manufacturing has expanded, but tea is still grown and hand-picked in fields like this one.
    7  of  8
  • Video: Malaysia: skyscrapers and oil palms

Weltkarte

Malaysia

Zu Besuch in einem der Tigerstaaten

Einreisedatum 18. Mai 2007
Kilometerstand 584.102

Hauptstadt Kuala Lumpur

Größe 330.290 km²

Einwohner 28.334.135

BIP 278,6 Mrd. US-Dollar

Amtssprache Malaysisch

Das muslimisch geprägte Land hat in den letzten Jahren einen enormen wirtschaftlichen Sprung erlebt. Es wird zu den asiatischen Tigerstaaten gezählt. Neben den einheimischen Ethnien leben viele Inder, Chinesen, sowie Europäer und Australier dort. Malaysia besteht aus unzähligen Inseln und teilt sich mit Brunei und Indonesien das Staatsgebiet auf der südostasiatischen Insel Borneo. Nach seinem ersten Besuch kam Otto noch häufig auf seinem Weg zum Hafen von Singapur durch das Land.
  • Neben der Ölpalme hat auch der Kautschukbaum eine ganz besondere Bedeutung für die malaiische Wirtschaft. Bei der Ernte zapfen die Arbeiter den Baum an und lassen den austretenden Milchsaft in Eimer rinnen. Später kann der Naturkautschuk zu Autoreifen oder zu Matratzen weiterverarbeitet werden.
    8  von  8
  • Als Gunther Holtorf im Mai 2007 in Malaysia einreiste, waren die Feierlichkeiten zum 50-jährigen Jubiläum der Unabhängigkeit von Großbritannien bereits in vollem Gange
    1  von  8
  • Die Petronas Towers stellen ein imposantes Zeichen für den Aufschwung Malaysias dar. Mit 452 Metern ragen sie in den Himmel der Hauptstadt Kuala Lumpur und galten lange Zeit als die höchsten Gebäude der Welt.
    2  von  8
  • Auf malaiischen Märkten finden die Besucher viele verschiedene Gemüsesorten. Auch die einheimische Küche ist aufgrund der unterschiedlichen kulturellen Einflüsse sehr facettenreich. Besonders beliebt sind Reisgerichte mit Fisch oder Fleisch.
    3  von  8
  • Dieser prächtige buddhistische Friedhof zeigt das friedliche Nebeneinander der Religionen in Malaysia. Die Buddhisten stellen eine Minderheit in Malaysia dar. Gunther Holtorf erlebte viel Toleranz in dem südostasiatischen Land.
    4  von  8
  • Die Orang-Utans auf der Insel Borneo sind vom Aussterben bedroht. Wesentlicher Grund dafür ist die Zerstörung ihrer Lebensräume durch die Abholzung des Regenwalds.
    5  von  8
  • Malaysia ist einer der größten Produzenten von Palmöl. "Von Norden bis Süden ist das Land mit Ölpalmen gepflastert", sagt Gunther Holtorf. Hier hält er die Früchte der Pflanze in Händen.
    6  von  8
  • In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat aber die Landwirtschaft in Malaysia zugunsten der industriellen Entwicklung an Bedeutung verloren. Auf Feldern wie diesem wird aber noch immer Tee angebaut und von Hand geerntet.
    7  von  8
  • Video: Malaysia - von perfekter Infrastruktur und Ölpalmen